Reviews

Weekend in lakes - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay at Landing cottage. Colin went out of his way to be helpful. Breakfast was excellant. Thank you

Reviewer:Beverley S | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 1 day ago


A gem in the Lake District.... - Rating 5/5

Fantastic location and wonderfully priced hotel. Colin is welcoming and helpful and the room was very clean and inviting. He serves a fine breakfast and I would highly recommend his charming home to all. Thank you Colin!

Reviewer:Stephen H | Mon 8th Oct 2018 | 1 week ago


Great spot near Lakeside - Rating 5/5

Convenient for access to Lakeside stemaers and the Ferry. Comfy warm accomodation couldn't fault it with a good hearty breakfast. Caters for Mountain Bikers aswell which we had.

Reviewer:Garry D | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Grief break - Rating 4/5

A pleasant welcome when I arrived, Room was very clean and the bed was comfortable.ample very hot water and the usual tea and coffee was provided all in all a pleasant stay.Meals where substantial.

Reviewer:Anthony W | Sat 22nd Sep 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Ms - Rating 5/5

A warm friendly greeting on arrival Excellent breakfast, comfortable accommodation

Reviewer:Sandra H | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Great night's sleep in a lovely guest house. Colin was very helpful and breakfast was delicious.

Reviewer:Josephine M | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Ideal - Rating 5/5

Stayed 2 nights as we were attending a friends wedding, the room and premises were clean and comfortable, the host was welcoming and helpful - a great short stay - Thanks!

Reviewer:Ben A | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Landing Cottage Holiday stay - Rating 5/5

Our stay was most enjoyable, friendly host and very comfortable accommodation, the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Would not hesitate booking this Guest House again.

Reviewer:Mr Frank P | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely Place - Rating 4/5

Great place. Colin is very friendly and gave us great tips of where to eat etc.. very clean, breakfast was YUM and the bed was very comfortable. Great value for money. Thank you Colin, we have already recommended you to our family

Reviewer:John D | Fri 14th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


You couldn’t be treated any better - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful place to stay, it is very clean,the shower is the best we’ve had so far on our 4 week trip. The breakfast is as good or better than we have had in most restaurants. The lake was 50 yards away.ColinWas very helpful with anything we wereCuriousAbout. All in all a great place to stay. P.S.I hope everything is ok with your dog Colin

Reviewer:Robert O | Fri 7th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely quaint place- Rating 4/5

Lovely quaint place. Comfortable bed and great value for money. Very helpful and knowledgable about the area. We were certainly made to feel at home. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:John D | Tue 4th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


landing cottage - Rating 5/5

we found this cottage very good the service and attention given to us was superb and I would recommend it well situated

Reviewer:George f | Mon 3rd Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Warm and welcoming - Rating 5/5

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay here! From the moment we stepped through door until the moment we left we were well looked after. Would definitely stay again!

Reviewer:Joanna W | Thu 30th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Best litle guest house in newby bridge- Rating 5/5

From the minute we arrived colin the owner and fr1ont of house looked after us the place was spotless rooms were quite spacious and cleanTHe breakfast was plentiful andtasty would reccomend it for a wkend away would stay again

Reviewer:June F | Tue 28th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Authentic - Rating 5/5

Lovely quaint authentic British cottage feel . Loved our stay and Colin the host was Very attentive . Rooms very clean and comfortable . Would recommend so close to the Lake 1 minute walk

Reviewer:Daljit S | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Nice and peaceful location,Free parking,close to Lake side.very nice breakfast;clean bathroom and very comfortable bed and mattress.The owner Colin was friendly and helpful man.

Reviewer:Dipak P | Fri 17th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


landing cottage - Rating 5/5

the guest house was lovely,the room was good and cosy,the host was really friendly and very nice,the breakfast was fantastic,would stay there again

Reviewer:pat w | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Wedding- Rating 5/5

Spot on asked colin could we check in earlier as was going to a wedding , which he said was no problem, excellent breakfast will be going back

Reviewer:Barry H | Fri 10th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Home from home- Rating 5/5

Colin was very helpful, we felt very welcome at Landing Cottage.We had the ensuite room which was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. Would recommend!

Reviewer:Beckie M | Tue 31st Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Great spot. Great host. - Rating 5/5

I stopped over for a wedding in the area. Good bed and shower. Good shower. Colin is a great bloke who couldn’t do enough for you. Thank you

Reviewer:Glen K | Sat 28th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Well Recommended - Rating 5/5

Always a warm welcome and friendly service.Breakfast freshly cooked and rooms pleasant.Great position for exploring Windermere and a number of local tourist attractions.

Reviewer:Ian D | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay. Colin was very welcoming &helpful.

Reviewer:Nigel M | Fri 20th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Short break- Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay at Landing Cottage. The bed was comfortable, the shower hot, a delicious breakfast and a congenital host - what more can you ask? There is ample parking giving good walking access to the Lake. Should we visit The Lakes again, Landing Cottage will be our first choice of accommodation.

Reviewer:Dennis and Melanie B | Tue 17th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Summer Break - Rating 4/5

Excellent accomodation service

Reviewer:Pauline T | Sat 30th Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


A lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

A very good B&B with a nice room and an excellent location for lake Windermere (less than 5mins walk for boat trips). Good breakfast and a very friendly and helpful host.

Reviewer:Andrew D | Sat 30th Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


Would 100% recommend this place- Rating 5/5

Would recommend this place to anyone. Collin was one of the nicest people I have met. My friend and I went for a wedding and couldn’t get a taxi to the venue so Collin offered to kindly drop us off! The room was clean and comfortable for us. Felt at home! Thankyou for a great stay!

Reviewer:Catriona H | Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


We had a great time - Rating 5/5

Its all the small details what makes this place really feels like home. Everything was clean and tidy and the food was high quality. The owner is very kind and helpful. If you are unsure I recommend to give it a try, you wont be disappointed.

Reviewer:Monika P | Thu 21st Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


Lovely cosy place to stay!- Rating 4/5

Lovely, cosy room in a great location near to Windermere and other popular destinations. Colin was very welcoming and breakfast was great with a variety of choices. Recommend for a weekend in the lakes 😊

Reviewer:Hannah D | Sun 17th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Landing Cottage - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay - A perfect location for exploring the south lakes area - Very comfortable, clean property and the owners, Colin and Sharron were so welcoming and friendly - Great breakfasts included in price - We will be back for more - Many thanks,Terry

Reviewer:Terry L | Thu 14th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


ideal location - Rating 4/5

Ideal location with frendly chatty owner.We were able to parkthe car and forget about it for 2 daysWe enjoyed our cooked breakfasts on both mornings. The happy smiley potato face was a great hit with all in the room

Reviewer:Anthony O | Sat 9th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Over night stay - Rating 5/5

This stay was ideal for us . We needed an over night stay and this had everything we needed , bed &shower etc . The owner was welcoming &a great guy / thank you

Reviewer:andrew s | Mon 4th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Home from Home - Rating 4/5

Booked a last minute one night stay as the Bank Holiday weather for Cartmel races was forecast so good. Just a twenty minute drive from the races to a warm welcome from Colin. Stayed in a nice room with a king size bed and single bed, shared bathroom but good layout with the toilet, shower and bath all in separate rooms just down the corridor.Great location, good breakfast. Slightly dated in parts and the entrance hall was abit shabby but would have no hesitation in staying again.

Reviewer:Debra A | Wed 30th May 2018 | 4 months ago


2 night stay at Landing Cottage Newby Bridge - Rating 4/5

Friendly and extremely helpful host who was always on hand to answer queries or guide visitors'cars out onto the road.

Reviewer:Lesley P | Sun 20th May 2018 | 4 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely stay at landing cottage we had a wedding on the Saturday at Cartmel 10min drive away so decided to make a long weekend away the breakfast was lovely and only 2 min walk to Lakeside for the ferry we had to share the bathroom Facility but that was not a problem everywhere was lovely and clean bedroom warm and comfortable very friendly place lovely breakfast wouldreccomend to friends

Reviewer:Norma G | Tue 15th May 2018 | 5 months ago


so nice - Rating 5/5

the house is so close to the lake and the people are so nice

Reviewer:Chunlin S | Fri 11th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Very good- Rating 5/5

Very nice cosy place and close to the lake

Reviewer:Ian M | Tue 8th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely stay in a beautiful location with an excellent host. We were lucky enough to see a deer outside our window.

Reviewer:Philip E | Tue 8th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Last minute booking. Made to feel very welcome. Free upgrade. Lovely room very comfortable bed. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Great host. Very peaceful would highly recomend

Reviewer:Paul B | Thu 26th Apr 2018 | 5 months ago


Weekend trip - Rating 5/5

What a beautiful part of the country! Stunning views all around. A great place to visit for a quiet break away from all the madness. Colin is a super friendly guy who made us more than welcome, as well as cooking us a mean fry up the next morning!

Reviewer:Elli F | Mon 26th Feb 2018 | 7 months ago


warm and comfortable- Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, comfy bed, attentive host.

Reviewer:eileen l | Mon 15th Jan 2018 | 9 months ago


warm and comfortable- Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, comfy bed, attentive host.

Reviewer:eileen l | Mon 15th Jan 2018 | 9 months ago


peaceful break - Rating 5/5

Had 3 comfortable nights here just after xmas.Colin a great host provided a wholesome breakfast.Nice size room,bathroom spotless.All in a very quite area.Would defo stay again.

Reviewer:sandra s | Sat 6th Jan 2018 | 9 months ago


Friendly basic accommodation - Rating 4/5

Easy to find just South of the big Lakeside Hotel, meaning great access to the boats to Bowness &Ambleside too. A 15 minute walk along the road into Newby Bridge for the Swan Hotel for dinner &afternoon tea was great, but take a torch. Our host was very friendly, and gave us a discount voucher for the boats. Cooked breakfast was good &not overly excessive, with prompt friendly service. Cereals &juice were also available. Accommodation has the feel of staying in somebody's house. We had a good firm bed in a double aspect room. Sound insulation was good between rooms. We had a shared bathroom with separate rooms for the bath, toilet and shower. All functional &adequate. It is quite a tight staircase up. Good parking on hard standing outside. We would stay again.

Reviewer:Raymond W | Mon 1st Jan 2018 | 9 months ago


Short Break - Rating 4/5

Extremely friendly host, very comfortable bed and a great breakfast. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Lisa M | Sat 30th Dec 2017 | 9 months ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent 1 night stay at this guest house. I would reccommend this guest house to any especially if you like peace &qiuet. Very relaxing and Colin the host provided a 5 star service

Reviewer:Graham T | Fri 22nd Dec 2017 | 9 months ago


Very comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcome from Colin was much appreciated. Excellent choices for breakfast, nothing was too much trouble. Will be back.

Reviewer:Wayne W | Wed 13th Dec 2017 | 10 months ago


Cosy, Quiet & Hospitable - Rating 5/5

We had a friendly greeting with a lovely, knowledgeable host.He gave honest recommendations and was very approachable.The stay was cosy and quiet, which is what I intended.Cool forest to explore round the back and in walking distance to the pier.

Reviewer:Donna C | Fri 10th Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


Very happy - Rating 5/5

Better than expected! Colin was super accommodating. Great location for ferry to bowness. Shame the pub nearby has closed. The Lakeside hotel is across the road which is very very nice for a few drinks, albeit expensive.

Reviewer:Richard T | Tue 17th Oct 2017 | 12 months ago


Good stay - Rating 4/5

A fantastic host, good facilities and very near the lake and lots of amenities. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Ian S | Mon 2nd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Ian and Alison Birtle- Rating 5/5

Landing Cottage is a 'no frills' B&B in the National Park with its glorious beauty. Colin could not be more accommodating if he tried. Comfortable, cosy room with ensuite TV and tea and coffee making facilities. He served a wonderful cooked breakfast with fruit, cereals and fruit juice as well. And the B&B was so quiet because the company policy doesn't allow children. Overall a 5 star weekend at a budget price. Thanks for everything Colin at Landing Cottage. We hope to return again soon.

Reviewer:Alison B | Mon 25th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


LANDING COTTAGE IN SEPTEMBER 2017 - Rating 4/5

A lovely quiet B&B in the middle of Lakeside attractions , witha very friendly host, Colin. Lovely warm bedroom with shared facilities ( very clean throughout ). We thought that the lounge was uninviting, as it was always dark and the logburner in it remained unlit throughout our stay, which was a shame as it would have made the whole place more homely and inviting.

Reviewer:Michael S | Sun 24th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Very enjoyable stay at Landing Cottage - Rating 5/5

Quiet, clean, comfortable and friendly - everything we wanted from our stay. Very tasty breakfast too.

Reviewer:Lorraine G | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Landing cottage - Rating 4/5

Ideal location away from the hustle and bustle of Windermere...v friendly staff and good clean good price with basic room ..will definitely use again

Reviewer:Richard H | Mon 4th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

What a fab b and b , colin was a very helpful person , breakfast was really nice , room was fab too, everything you need , will defo go back,

Reviewer:Dawn P | Mon 4th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

value for money, great breakfast

Reviewer:Mrs. CatherineB | Wed 30th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Comfortable and welcoming - Rating 5/5

The perfect place after two long days of hiking. I was welcomed by Colin, then enjoyed a lovely hot shower and a great night sleep in a very comfortable bed.I was treated to a nice cooked breakfast the following morning and had been contacted prior to my visit to accommodated my dietry requirements.A very enjoyable stay, I would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Carol B | Wed 30th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Brilliant Little Place - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for one night as part of a two day trip to the Lakes. The owner was lovely, the room was clean and breakfast the next morning was delicious. I would recommend Landing Cottage to others, and would stay there again in the future.

Reviewer:Harry D | Wed 23rd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Holiday stay - Rating 4/5

Very helpful Host,A good full English breakfast.Slept well in a very comfortable bed.Nice surroundings very close to the lake and attractions.

Reviewer:Charles O | Tue 22nd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


landing cottage- Rating 5/5

Great hospitality and a warm and engaging host made this a wonderful visit 😊

Reviewer:Nigel P | Tue 22nd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Good place to stay - Rating 5/5

very nice friendly place to stay. close to lakeside aquarium and train -ferry service.

Reviewer:Sharjeel A | Tue 15th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Comfortable, welcoming stay.Friendly host, very helpful.Couldn't fault the breakfast, the smilie with breakfast certainly did make us smile.Thank you

Reviewer:David B | Sun 13th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


GEM ON SHORES OF LAKE WINDERMERE - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed at this lovely B&B the location is just a 2 mins walk to Lakeside were you can get a pleasure boat that takes you to Bowness on Windermere and also up to Ambleside, the room was excellent very cleanwith a good en suite, lovely breakfast with plenty of choice and enjoyed the surprise on the breakfast plate, we would definitely recommend staying here and we will hopefully be back sooon.Brian and LyndaEdinburgh

Reviewer:Brian C | Fri 11th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Bay Trip - Rating 4/5

Good comfortable B&B in easy walking distance from Newby Bridge.

Reviewer:Andy W | Sat 29th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

The cottage was very comfortable, clean and the staff were very helpful. The full English breakfast was delicious. Thank you for a very comfortable stay.

Reviewer:Susan B | Sun 23rd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

The venue was in a good location, easy to get to.The owner was extremely helpful and went out of his way to ensure the stay was relaxing.Breakfast was excellent

Reviewer:Phillip B | Thu 20th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Will stay again - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable bed and lovely room and tremendous breakfast. Owner very friendly and we will be happy to book again next time in the area.

Reviewer:Soodsawat R | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Location, Excellent Hosts - Rating 5/5

The Cottage is in a perfect location, our hosts could not be faulted, fantastic breakfast and good value for money. Definitely would stay again.

Reviewer:Paul F | Mon 17th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Just the Job! - Rating 5/5

Much appreciated to be given access to room early, to leave my stuff ahead of a wedding. Room and wash facilities down the hall were clean and tidy, room had a wash basin and little extras that were not expected. Breakfast was cooked fresh and was very tasty and offered extra coffee...which after the wedding was in much need! All in all, perfect location close to Swan Hotel and even got help with taxis arrangements. Many Thanks

Reviewer:Richard Evans| Mon 26th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect for my overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly and helpful. Clean and comfortable room containing everything I required. Showering facilities were clean and modern, although a little small, they did the job. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice.

Reviewer:Lee C | Thu 22nd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Review comments - Rating 4/5

Lovely guest house on all counts. Helpful &friendly owner, good breakfast. Beautiful comfy king size bed. Pleasant surroundings very near ferry point.

Reviewer:Rachel A | Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful B and B on Lake Windermere - Rating 5/5

Wonderful place to stay right on Lake Windermere with everything you could ask for. Great breakfast. Clean rooms and hospitable hosts thank you

Reviewer:Debbie L | Wed 7th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


landing cottage - Rating 4/5

Very good location &breakfast. Room was comfortable &the owner was very helpful. Would consider staying again. Good value for money.

Reviewer:martin c | Fri 2nd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Quaint and cosy - Rating 4/5

What a brilliant little place! The cottage is very homely and well kept. The owner is really helpful and makes a cracking breakfast!

Reviewer:Rosina W | Fri 2nd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Short break stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at Landing Cottage. The owner was very friendly and polite, nothing seemed too much trouble for him.The rooms were very comfortable with wifi throughout the property.The breakfast was very nice aswell and was ample size, with the option of more toast if requiered. Would recommend this to anyone.

Reviewer:Paul K | Fri 2nd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Bank holiday weekend- Rating 5/5

Had a lovely time very good service ideal for what we wanted perhaps just need a bit of TLC in the ensuite bathroom

Reviewer:IAN S | Tue 30th May 2017 | 1 year ago


weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly. Clean property. Good breakfast.

Reviewer:Simon T | Fri 26th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Landing Cottage Review - Rating 5/5

Our party was two mature couples with each couple allocated a pleasant and comfortable room.Jovial and extremely accommodating host Colin was ever helpful providing an excellent breakfast each day setting us up to tour the wonderful Lake District.We are frequent visitors to the Lakes and will undoubtedly return to Landing Cottage in the future.Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Allen W | Wed 24th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable room with a lovely cooked breakfast. Colin, our host is a real hoot. Good value stay.

Reviewer:Michael C | Thu 18th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent Guest House and Location - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable guest house...and very friendly and helpful owner. Location could not be better 2mins walk from Lakeside Ferry Station...Room prepared to a high standard

Reviewer:Tom G | Tue 2nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Walking the Windermere Way - Rating 4/5

We were made very welcome for our one night stay at the start of the walk. Comfortable and quiet.Value for money.

Reviewer:Sheila T | Mon 17th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent value!- Rating 5/5

Comfortable stay! Excellent hospitality by Collin throughout! Would highly recommend!Hope to return late summer!

Reviewer:Jade H | Sun 16th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Windermere stay - Rating 4/5

Very good value for moneyExcellent breakfastTwo minutes walk to lake windermere

Reviewer:David B | Fri 14th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Loverly!! - Rating 5/5

Couldn't of asked for a more compfortable and welcoming place to stay Colin does a smashing breakfast will defiantly be back 😃Thanks for the lift to the pub col from Richard and Sarah

Reviewer:Richard M | Sun 2nd Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Landing Cottage stay - Rating 4/5

Best value for money B &B in Lakeside and surrounding district ,would book again. Thank you Colin for a pleasant stay 👍

Reviewer:ALEXANDER C | Mon 27th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Great host - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nothing was too much bother for Colin. Great advice on places to see and day trips.

Reviewer:Sue A | Wed 15th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent service at Landing Cottage - Rating 4/5

Collins is an extremely nice and helpful host.Upon our request, he is so kind to use his own oven to cook the frozen food we brought to the cottage as dinner on our first night of stay.We also enjoyed the full breakfast he provided everyday.The room and toilet are very clean, and we had a very cozy stay there.It would be an excellent choice for those who drive.

Reviewer:Mong Sze Patricia L | Sun 8th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Warm and welcoming- Rating 5/5

Our first stay in a B&B and what a lovely one it was. The owner (Colin) is very friendly and after a quick chat he showed us to our room. A beautiful and cosy king size room with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on! There are tea and coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and toiletries- the shower is hot and powerful. Breakfast was made to order the next morning and was fresh and delicious. We highly recommend this lovely place.

Reviewer:Emma H | Fri 30th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Fantastic breakfast - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay here. Easy to find near the Lakeside hotel and landing stage for boats on Windermere. Very comfy beds.

Reviewer:Mrs. Dorothy F | Sun 11th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed just the one night in November, en route to a funeral. The area is beautiful, the hosts were welcoming and friendly and we enjoyed the rooms. Breakfast was full English and very reasonably priced. Would have stayed longer if we could. Long way from Dartmoor, but felt at home

Reviewer:Mr. Derek M | Tue 15th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Great Location - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Landing Cottage for two nights and nothing was to much trouble for the very friendly host Colin. We had room two,very comfortable and clean and a great quiet nights sleep,it's so peacful around here. The breakfasts are very good and plentiful.It's minutes from the lake, and Lakeside Hotel,aquirium and lake trips. The Swan Hotel does nice food,5 minute drive away as does the Newby Bridge Hotel.There is also parking onsite.Will definatly be back.

Reviewer:Mr. PAUL N | Tue 13th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Comfortable B&B in a quiet setting - Rating 5/5

Due to working in the area one day, we decided to stay one night, so that we could have a day out in the Lakes the next day. The B&B had everything we needed;comfortable room with plenty of storage, 2 chairs, TV and refreshments. Guest lounge on the ground floor an added bonus. Super breakfast with plenty of choice, and helpful, friendly owner made this a great stay in a lovely quiet area. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. David B | Tue 19th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


21+22.06.15 for Wedding near by - Rating 5/5

Booked rooms for ten family and friends. Excellent place, friendly and helpful host, delicious breakfast. Rooms lovely and very clean, all of us slept well, beds comfy.Thank you for a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lorraine P | Wed 24th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Very nice stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for two nights to attend wedding. Very good friendly service, greeted on arrival and taken to clean spacious room. Good shared bathroom facilities. Very good breakfast. Highly recommend staying to others

Reviewer:Mr. Michael B | Sun 31st May 2015 | 3 years ago


Stay 25 to 27 March - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay at Landing Cottage, the host, Colin was friendly &helpful, the room was clean &comfortable &breakfast was very good. The outlook at the back needs tidying up, but I think this is being attended to.

Reviewer:Mr. David K | Thu 9th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely place. - Rating 5/5

Lovely big, clean room, great guy who runs the place. Cracking breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lorraine C | Tue 23rd Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Balloon Rest - Rating 4/5

Stumbled across this lovely place as we needed a place to stay post hot air balloon flight. Made to feel very welcome despite arriving quite late. Comfortable room in very pleasant surroundings. Great breakfast and staff. Felt like a home from home. Shame live too far away to be back soon

Reviewer:Miss. Melanie G | Mon 25th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Great stay. Friendly and attentive host.

Reviewer:Mr. David E | Mon 21st Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Landings Cottage Review - Rating 4/5

Wonderful little cottage, great value, friendly owner with lots of knowledge of the surrounding areas! Had a fantastic stay here, thank you!

Reviewer:Miss. Hannah S | Sun 29th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Just as good second time around - Rating 5/5

This is the second time we've stayed at the Landing Cottage and we weren't disappointed. The breakfast was even better than I remembered and we were in a different room (one of the doubles with shared facilities) and everything we could possibly need was there. Thanks again Colin - we'll see you again soon!

Reviewer:Miss. Charlotte B | Fri 20th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding. Had a wonderful time and would recommend to anyone stayingin the area. The breakfast was delicious!

Reviewer:Miss. Katie T | Sat 7th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Friendly B&B - Rating 4/5

Had a pleasant stay here in a great location with a convivial host. Room comfortable and amenities fine.

Reviewer:Mr. Duncan H | Mon 5th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay. Colin was very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. Great location

Reviewer:Mrs. Annette D | Mon 21st Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


one night stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed here as we were at a wedding at the Swan hotel and their prices were alot more than we were willing to pay. Colin is a fantastic host and was a pleasure to meet. The rooms were lovely, and veru comfy beds. The breakfast was amazing could of ate another 2 of them. Would definitely recommend the Landing Cottage

Reviewer:Mrs. Jamie H | Tue 8th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Four Star B & B - Rating 5/5

Colin made us very welcome, even upgraded our room - and all the little extras - daily weather forecasts;shampoo, shower gel etc;sample menus for nearby eateries - made for a fab overnight stay - Highly Recommended

Reviewer:Mrs. Barbara B | Sun 16th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Good stay - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed a 1 night stay at landing cottage. We were in the area looking for a wedding venue and needed a good base. Welcoming owner, comfortable bed, good price and great brekkie!

Reviewer:Mr. Simon B | Sun 23rd Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcome from Colin after a 5 hour drive. He recommended a very nice pub to get some food. The Masons Arms (http://www.masonsarmsstrawberrybank.co.uk/)The room was very nice. Again, just what I needed after a long drive ! Will use again, if/when I'm up that way.

Reviewer:Mr. Craig F | Wed 20th Nov 2013 | 4 years ago


Very good! - Rating 5/5

Awesome little place close to the lake! Colin was helpful, pointed us in the right direction for decent food! Room was very comfy and the shower was very hot, just what i needed after a long cold motorcycle ride! Breakfast was very nice too! great place at a great price :-)

Reviewer:Mr. Daniel M | Tue 17th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


brian - Rating 5/5

comfortble, clean, excellent breakfasts

Reviewer:Mr. Brian P | Sat 7th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Attended local wedding - Rating 4/5

The stay at Landing Cottage was fully fit for purpose. I required affordable accommodation, somewhere to get changed, sleep and have a hearty breakfast and this ticked all these boxes.

Reviewer:Mr. Shaun D | Mon 19th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


B & B- Rating 4/5

We had a pleasant and comfortable 4-night stay at the Landing cottage.Notably the very friendly and helpful host plus the strategical location for exploring the south lakes area makes this place a good choice for a long weekend or a short holiday.

Reviewer:Dr. Soenke J | Mon 5th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Great Hospitality- Rating 5/5

Landing Cottage is a clean and beautiful Guest House. The owner has made me feel welcome during my stay. My room was beautiful and comfortable. I had one of my best sleeps in it.The location of the guest house is great. Near the river and Aquarium. So you are next to one of the best views in England.Highly recommend it for people that want to explore the Lake District and want to go for long walks with beautiful views.

Reviewer:Mr. Hasan E | Mon 10th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


B & B - Rating 5/5

Very good value for money, excellent breakfast and service, a pleasure to stay and will be on our list for next time

Reviewer:Mr. Derek F | Wed 5th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


A nice stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful proprietor. Small, but very nice room and en suite. Great breakfast. Parking was a bit tight, but there were no problems.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark B | Fri 31st May 2013 | 5 years ago


B & B - Rating 4/5

A good value Bed and Breakfast cottage close to the lake with a really friendly owner. Enjoyed the stay.

Reviewer:Mr. John R | Tue 14th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Great weekend getaway - Rating 4/5

A warm welcome, very cosy room,and a fabulous breakfast to set us up for the day. A great base to explore the lakes.

Reviewer:Mrs. Claire A | Tue 2nd Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Landing Cottage - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room and nice breakfast. Helpful and friendly.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane P | Mon 25th Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


Very friendly - Rating 4/5

A very enjoyable weekend, everyone very friendly and helpful. Good value for money and in a great location.

Reviewer:Mr. StevenW | Fri 22nd Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


Home from home - Rating 4/5

Nice place to stay and an ideal location to see the sites at half the cost - lovely breakfast and all required facilities available.

Reviewer:Miss. Elizabeth G | Mon 11th Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


lovely cottage - Rating 4/5

it was a pleasure to stay at this cottage.Colin is a wonderful host and could not do enough to make your stay enjoyable.It was just like home from home.Thank you Colin!

Reviewer:Mrs. Elsie B | Tue 26th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


Space to relax - Rating 4/5

We had yet another lovely stay at Landing Cottage, Colin is a wonderful host, Breakfast sets you up for the rest of the day exploring the wonderful Lake District.

Reviewer:Mr. Gary P | Sun 24th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


Great guest house! - Rating 5/5

We attended a wedding at a nearby hotel, the Landing Cottage Guest House was a great place to stay! Great facilities and comfy beds! Would recommend to anyone!

Reviewer:Mr. Robert R | Mon 3rd Dec 2012 | 5 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Landing Cottage for a wedding. The room was very nice, comfortable. We recieved a warm welcome and were made to feel very at home. The breakfast was delicious, with great choice. All round a great stay, good value for money too. We will be staying again!

Reviewer:Mrs. Kiri C | Thu 1st Nov 2012 | 5 years ago


Great stay :) - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful owner and a very comfy bed! Many thanks for a lovely stay :)

Reviewer:Ms. Jennifer C | Tue 30th Oct 2012 | 5 years ago


Very Happy - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable stay at Landing Cottage.The welcome was good and the room and facilities were excellent.I would recommend Landing to anyone.Thanks again.

Reviewer:Mr. Simon C | Tue 2nd Oct 2012 | 6 years ago


LandingCottage - Rating 4/5

A warm welcome, very comfortable bed in the de luxe room and excellent breakfast made our stay at Landing Cottage Guest House very enjoyable. Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Mrs. Chris M | Tue 25th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Short Break - Rating 5/5

Having used a touring caravan for approx 40 years &now using a guest house for the first time due to ill health, visiting Landing Cottage was an extremely happy experience &we will definitely make a further visit, but stay for longer next time. A first class service all round

Reviewer:Mr. Peter C | Fri 31st Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


day at races - Rating 4/5

I stayed at landing cottage for a night to go to races at cartmel the room was clean and comfy, a good breakfast. Owner could'nt be more helpful would stay again if I'm there for races again

Reviewer:Mr. Paul T | Tue 28th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Lovely b and b- Rating 5/5

A great welcome and lovely stay, nice rooms and great breakfast... Many thanks.. Lyn

Reviewer:Miss. Lyn P | Tue 28th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Very accommodating - Rating 4/5

We arrived late and the owner was very kind to let us check in then. We got a free upgrade to ensuite. It was a 2 minute walk to the lakeside hotel where we were for a wedding so very handy. You can go there for drinks by the lake which is lovely. The brekkie was good and we had a nice hot power shower. It was a bit dated but overall very good.

Reviewer:Miss. Catriona B | Tue 31st Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Recommended - Rating 3/5

Great family friendly B&B, great host,very knowledgeable,very helpful, super breakfasts, recommended place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Barry K | Fri 27th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Position - Rating 5/5

Landing Cottage is in a great location close to a Lake, Colin made us feel very welcome. The room was excellant, and so was the breakfast!! We have stayed here before, and certainly would again

Reviewer:Mrs. Patricia D | Mon 23rd Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent service - Rating 4/5

This was my second visit to Landing Cottage, staying over for business reasons I cannot fault the level of service, Colin got up especially early for me to prepare breakfast and tea, I've stayed in two rooms and they are clean comfortable and relaxing

Reviewer:Mr. Sebastian F | Sat 21st Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 4/5

The stay in Landing Cottage was excellent. The room was very nice and tidy.We arrived after a long drive on motorbikes, got a warm welcome from Collin and good advice on were to eat (Swan hotel). The breakfast next morning was very good.A little downside:the mattress was a bit to soft for our taste, it was like lying in a ditch.

Reviewer:Mr. Eelco S | Sun 20th May 2012 | 6 years ago


Delicious bedroom and cosy breakfast - Rating 5/5

Great location with a friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable host. The room was warm, cosy and well furnished. The breakfasts were a definite highlight. We both have special diets, and Colin was excellent at catering for these.

Reviewer:Miss. Rebecca M | Sun 29th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Didn't want to leave - Rating 5/5

We had a very nice time at Landing Cottage. A great base to explore the Lakes, especially on the superbly cooked Full English breakfast we had each day.

Reviewer:Mr. Kris K | Mon 16th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent hospitality!- Rating 5/5

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly face and our room was already even though we arrived earlier than planned. The rooms are decorated to ahigh standard and very smart andclean and filled with everything that you could require, tea and coffee making facilities are also supplied, being from up north we drink tea like there is no tomorrow but had forgotten tea bags and Colin was only to I happy to supply us with more after we had raided what was already provided. We didn't spend a awful lot of time in the room as the surrounding areas and too beautiful to pass up on, but the room was warm comfortable. In addition an excellent selection of breakfast was offered from cereal toast and a lovely traditional fry up, enough to set you up for a full day of exploring. Would definitely recommend at such a reasonable price at peak season.

Reviewer:Miss. Louise H | Sat 14th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


1st class gem- Rating 5/5

Very reasonable price for one night stay. Warm and comfortable room and delicious breakfast!

Reviewer:Mr. SandyB | Mon 13th Feb 2012 | 6 years ago


Hotel review - Rating 4/5

We were made very welcome at Landing Cottage and were able to check into our room early as we were attending a wedding. Lovely breakfast and nice room, ideally would be better ensuite

Reviewer:Mrs. Joanne T | Mon 12th Dec 2011 | 6 years ago


Excellent second stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent second stay here. Owner is very helpful and makes a really good breakfast.Will definately stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline C | Mon 28th Nov 2011 | 6 years ago


Stopover - Rating 5/5

We used Landing Cotttage as a one night stopover on our way to Sctoland. We were made very welcome by Colin, the bed was comfy and there was a plentiful and well cooked breakfast. Everything you need in a frienfly B and B. We would definately stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian C | Sun 4th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Great place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Landing Cottage is a great place to stay with a brilliant friendly atmosphere. The rooms are clean and tidy and the breakfasts were plentiful. Thanks for having us.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kelly B | Mon 29th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Excellent B & B - Rating 5/5

We stayed for three, very comfortable nights and enjoyed wonderful hospitality.Thanks Colin for the amazing breakfast choices and knowledge of the area which helped us around the beautiful Lake District.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Ms. Lynda W | Sat 20th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


such good value - Rating 4/5

The welcome was friendly, and arrangements to suit us.Room was well equipped and pleasant.The owners clearly care about providing what visitors need, and work hard to that effect.As the tarif was extremely reasonable, we did not expect such good quality.

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison Morgan| Mon 25th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Very Welcoming - Rating 5/5

Staying in Landing Cottage was value for money with clean &independent entry room.Also,Colin was very welcoming, helping &hospitable,which made our holidays very memorable.

Reviewer:Mr. Amit G | Fri 22nd Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Recommended! - Rating 5/5

Only stayed one night, but would have loved to stay longer.Rooms clean and well maintained, breakfast yummy. Colin was welcoming and went out of his way to help. Recommended to all.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen C | Sun 19th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


experience - Rating 5/5

fantastic b+b , lovely room , clean and bright, excellent breakfast and helpful host , recomended at the highest level

Reviewer:Mrs. Nicola K | Wed 8th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Rercomended. - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent stay. Family with 2 teenaged boys. Very comfortable rooms. Plenty of hot water. Boys happy with the WiFi and we all loved the breakfast. Colin even got us our special request vegetarian breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Azriman R | Wed 8th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


nice place, nice people - Rating 5/5

Very nice atmosphere, great service, tasty breakfasts, a clean and very comfortable room, very good location (close to the local tourist attractions)- all you will receive at the Landing Cottage. I would highly recommend it to everybody.

Reviewer:Mrs. ElzbietaG | Mon 30th May 2011 | 7 years ago


1night B&B stay in April 2011 - Rating 4/5

Colin, the owner, greeted us enthusiastically on arrival and gave us helpful info on the area.The B&B was well located next to Lake Windermere within easy access of all the tourist facilities. The Tempur en-suite (the reason for the stay here) was first-class, clean and tidy.Breakfast was excellent and Colin was a great host.Would recommend to friends.

Reviewer:Mr. JAMESK | Fri 15th Apr 2011 | 7 years ago


Book Online


Our Facilities

  • Credit card
  • Free parking
  • Parking facilities
  • Wifi
  • Country retreat

Contact Details

Landing Cottage
Lakeside
Ulverston
Newby Bridge
Cumbria
LA12 8AS